X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring in WebSphere

I'm trying to understand what the connection between Spring and WebSphere could/should be. I'm new to both and a bit confused...

I love the base ideas in Spring. And when I've done Java in the past (cerc. Struts 1.0), I ended up with 1 directory (or .war) that I could easily move from server to server. Back then it was all Tomcat and the only thing I used the container for was to protect a directory. So I'm hoping to use Spring for everything if I can. But I need to understand things better to make my case.

On this project I have to use WebSphere. It looks like there is a sort of framework built into WebSphere itself.

So, does it make sense to use Spring in a WebSphere environment? Should I use just Spring (if the powers at be will let me) or should (can) I use the pieces of Spring that WebSphere doesn't have?

My questions here releate to two separate subprojects. I'm writing a web service to update an LDAP direcotory.

The other project is a client that will consume the service; I will most likely be forced to use a WebSphere portlet for the front end. Can (and again should) Spring portlets be used in the WebSphere portal server? Or can a WebSphere portlet just be the front end to a Spring middle layer?

Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by Rod Johnson; Jun 19th, 2006, 11:54 AM.

distributed objects and services with websphere/spring

I would expect the Spring MVC framework to be redundant in the portal environment. You may want to see this article on deployiong a struts application on websphere.
    http://www-128.ibm.com/developerwork...nis/hanis.html

I am more interested in using other aspects of Spring on WebSphere.

I am investigating avoiding the use of EJBs by using Spring for distributed objects and services on Websphere.

Or, using spring to allow transparent migration to EJB3.0 when it is available.

Any pointers would be moost welcome.

Comment