X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Application design using Spring

I am relatively new to designing soa apps, and am looking for some advice on design patterns and best practices.

I am writing a service layer application which will be used to manage user accounts. The application needs to perform basic function such as registration, account activation, reset password, etc. Each function has security restrictions which would need to be enforced, such as: account verification, authentication, or password policy restrictions. This service will likely be remoted using http proxy or made into a web service. I want to know what design patterns would be good to use in this case, and how to design the interfaces to this service. I would like to use Spring AOP to implement the security restraints. Does anybody have any good ideas.

My initial idea is to have this interface:

interface AccountManager{
    activateAccount(Account account);
    resetPassword(Account account, String newPassword);
    }

where account would be apart of my domain model

class Account{
    String userId;
    String firstName;
    String lastName;
    }

But how do I weave in the security restrictions, such as: in order to reset a password you must provide your userId, pin, dob, secret answer to question? What about enforcing a password policy?

Should I could create a class to enforce such restrictions, and use Spring AOP proxies?

class SecurityManager{
    //Im not sure what this would look like?
    }

Is it possible to have a rich domain model and still offer a simple service layer interface that is easy to remote, without having a bloated client jar?

Thanks for any advice you have.

Originally posted by yelyad
    I am relatively new to designing soa apps, and am looking for some advice on design patterns and best practices.