X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring + Plugins

Hello I'm totally new to Spring and I'm still trying to figure out what spring can actually do for me.
    So I started reading "J2EE Develepment without EJB".
    One of the best books on software development I know.

What I experienced so far is that most of the problems in commercial projects
    or at least the ones I know ( J2EE or .Net ) come from:

- weak support for the poor system administrator
    - no support for service or plugin driven development
    - no support for plugin deployment and versioning

I think the last two points are very importing when you have to configure a core
    application with diffent behaviour for different users ( departments, etc.) Developing one application for different
    needs that might difffer only in details is pure nightmare!

Other things that changes constantly are workflow and UI behaviour
    Both things could be implemented as plugins.
    So you don`t have to switch off and on parts of your application or even introduce build time flags to chose between versions.
    What a nightmare again!

So I would like to know if spring supports managed plugins that you can start, stop, install, uninstall
    Autowire plugins including dependency check and versioning. So if you like this is dependency injection on a higher level than object level.

Maybe similar to MBeans in JBoss or Eclipse or better?
    Is this supported in Spring?
    Can I tell my system administrator "take version 1.02 of the login plugin and
    replace the buggy one via spring system (web)console" so he or she can fix or improve a running application?