Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Different Databases for different users to separate data?

Hi everyone!

I am no total newby to Spring, but I am far from being an expert. I hope you can help me.

I am planning a web application that will have a start-page with news, infos and the like.
    There will be a login for registered users to access their private data.

How would you suggest I separate the data of the different users?
    I thought about including in every object the corresponding user. And then manage the access rights in the spring application.
    Then I thought maybe I could use a single database for every user. Then I would not need to manage the access rights. How would I do this in Spring with Hibernate? I used Spring and Hibernate but all my objects were loaded at startup via Hibernate and not when a user logged in...

What whould you suggest to manage the user data? Any tip is welcome!

Thank you!
    Dominik

Single database for every user? What if you have 1000 users? That means 1000 databases? 1 million users = 1 million databases?

Isn't that too much waste of resources? And what database are you going to use? MySQL? You'll probably go for NoSQL type databases then.

I suggest implementing ACL with Spring Security instead of 1 user per database. You can load specific data depending on the authorized user and the access rights given to the object. Maybe you can start by checking the following tutorial:

Spring Security 3: Full ACL Tutorial
    http://krams915.blogspot.com/2011/01...-tutorial.html

Comment

Originally posted by Huehnerbrust View Post
      Then I thought maybe I could use a single database for every user. Then I would not need to manage the access rights. How would I do this in Spring with Hibernate? I used Spring and Hibernate but all my objects were loaded at startup via Hibernate and not when a user logged in...