Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Practice for application re-use?

Hi

I've been learning a great deal lately about best practices in design and implementation of business requirements and code (thanks Rod, but I'm struggling to do the same at the 'sysadmin' level.

Using Spring, I havea couple of client applications under development, which may (or may not) be interdependent, but both (and others) will rely on one foundation: the core stuff - authentication, authorization, menus, user/organization admin/structures. Having created this core stuff as a seperate application, I am a looking for advice as to how best to keep it from being 'consumed' by each application built atop it. i.e. I'd like to keep the context, servlet and hibernate definition files independently maintained (as well as the code base).

As I'm fairly new to Spring/JSP/Tomcat, I'm struggling to think of any solution except a fairly complex Ant build file to 'merge' the required files from the seperate applications into one war file for deployment - which is not really what I was trying to achieve. (Although I can't release the client apps, I would like to release the core stuff).

My apologies if this is not all entirely 'on topic' for Spring, but any guidance would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Philip

Maven is your friend.

Hi Philip,
    We have a common project (several actually) that our other projects depend on. The common project generates a jar file and using Maven's dependency management; we include the jar file in our other projects. If your not to keen on Maven for some reason, I believe Savant offers something similar for Ant.

Another alternative could be to include the source from your common project into the current project. This can simplify refactoring between the two projects, but it's really easy to dig yourself a very big hole once several project start using the common project.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,
    Dan

Comment

Hi Dan